About the University of Tartu

The University of Tartu was founded in 1632 by the Swedish king Gustavus Adolphus. It was initiallycalled Academia Dorpatensis. The necessary preparations for creating a university in Tartu (then Dorpat) were made by Johan Skytte, governor general of Livonia. Academia Dorpatensis, modelled after the University of Uppsala in Sweden, was intended to pursue research and advance learning in a wide variety of disciplines. The University of Tartu (UT) has continued to adhere to this approach throughout thecenturies, and remains today the only classical universityin Estonia. Research at UT focuses on subjects as diverse as medicine and philosophy, genetics and computer science.



UT is Estonia's leading centre of research and training. It preserves the culture of the Estonian people and spearheads the country's reputation in research and provision of higher education.

As Estonia's national university, UT stresses the importance of international co-operation and partnerships with reputable research universities all over the world. The robust research potential of the university is evidenced by the fact that it is the only Baltic university that has been invited to join the Coimbra Group, a prestigious club of renowned research universities.

UT includes nine faculties and four colleges. To support and develop the professional competence of its students and academic staff, the university has entered into bilateral cooperation agreements with 57 partner institutions in 21 countries.